An Ohio mom gave her son consent to receive a tattoo and she is facing charges based on a video that was recorded during the procedure that allegedly depicted an unlicensed teenager doing the work in an unclean space.
34-year-old Nikki Dickinson and her son Skylar live in Bellefontaine, Ohio, and Skylar turned 10-years-old in mid-September.
According to Dickinson, her son had been hounding her for quite some time about wanting to get a tattoo. When she said she became tired of him asking she gave him consent for the work to take place a week after his birthday.
On September 24, a 16-year-old tattoo artist who reportedly does not have a license worked on Dickinson’s son’s arm inside of a home while she recorded a video of the event.
The video footage was posted online and viewers became worried that the child was in an unsafe situation. Police reported that they received calls concerning the material in the video from many people, some who live in other states.
Police followed up the reports by visiting Dickinson and discussing the situation, where she explained that she permitted her son to get the work done because she was tired of him asking her for it over and over again.
When speaking with Skylar it was reported that he also said that he desired the tattoo, and he was reported as being in good condition when the authorities checked in on him a few days after he received it.
In the state of Ohio, it is not illegal for a parent to give consent to a child for getting tattooed, but the law stipulates that the parent has to be there when the tattoo is given and that the area the work is done in must be sanitary and safe.
Child services were told of the incident and Dickinson is facing charges of first-degree misdemeanor child endangering, and contributing to the delinquency of a minor.
If you or someone you love is suspected of child endangerment, contact Orange County criminal defense lawyer Staycie R. Sena at (949) 477-8088 for a consultation now.